Elder Dillon Haughton in Thailand

Missionary Blog updated by Dillon's Mom

Elder Dillon Haughton 6th Letter from Thailand

Hey everyone 🙂

So last “P” day, at the spur of the moment, we decided to go ride ostriches and can I tell you it is the funniest thing ever! They are so weird looking and fast as heck! Let me tell you the funnest thing ever!!! I’m definitely buying a fleet of these and conquering Europe via ostriche!! Woooo!

But anyways . . . been a great week – have learned alot and made some good progress with our investigators, just wish we could move some of them along faster, but it really is the Lord’s timing, not mine.

So yesterday we went down to Chiang Mai to see the new mission president. President Senior is a really great, great, great man. When he was up on the podium, I thought I saw a glimpse of my father and that’s when I knew this guy was going to do some great stuff here. He’s got my full trust and he’s already really good at the language. But all great men still need help so if he can be in all your prayers that would help a ton :).

So we have this meet and greet and President Senior calls me up to the stage and relates how we met in the MTC to everyone (My parents know this story and should be able to rehearse it to you so ask them ). But he tells that story with me up there and just tells everyone what a bold, great missionary he knew I would be ( made me feel pretty good). So I know his expectations of me here and I’ll do all I can to meet those expectations :).

President Senior talked about something else very interesting about how, “eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, nor entered into the heart of man, how great of the things the Lord has prepared in the Kingdom for those that love Him.” And he talked about the megapixels the human eye can see, the symphonies ears can hear, inspirations that can enter our hearts – what can be better? I think of how beautiful it is here, with rolling forested hills, jungles as far as the eye can see, sunsets to die for, and rain to die in (haha). I think of trumpeting elephants and that weird sound ostriches make that really has no alphabatized form (most of the Thai language as well – which is coming along great ). I think of miracles, and pure joy when someone tells you they know it’s true. I can’t imagine anything better. But I’ll love God more than myself all my days to find out. Thailand is amazing, the food is amazing, people are hilarious, companions are exactly that – Elder Todd is great :). I love it here! Men who read this, serve missions! Do all you can to serve missions! Kill yourself if you must! There is nothing better!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Elder Dillon Haughton 6th Letter from Thailand

  1. Ride ’em . . . Elders!

Leave a Reply

