Elder Dillon Haughton in Thailand

Missionary Blog updated by Dillon's Mom

Elder Dillon Haughton 33rd Letter from Thailand

This week has been a blast!! So much fun this last week, some mistakes, some forgiveness and always improving I love it! So this week started off with family home evening at the branch president’s house and I ask if they need any help and sister Noy (such a great lady haha) goes “yeah your making the food.” She gives me all these cooking utensils and starts dumping vegetables in the skillet hahaha hilarious I got brother Arm taking pictures and couching me how to cook Thai food. “Stir faster, no no the other way, flip it flip it, oh no it’s burning!! Haha all the while in a language were my cooking vocabulary is very limited haha but none the less it came out as something I remember eating a lot with my mom back home, a lot like EDO only tasted healthier haha a lot of fun. Then went to My 1 year mark! We went and ate Sushi haha, this make it yourself conveyer belt restaurant which was a lot of fun! About an hour into it we were all going to explode haha! Great one year mark :). Next we found some members, found some that moved away, some that don’t want to come back all the while looking for a new house. Sunday had 75 people at church, which is awesome!! Another funny story is the members here are starting to be more careful with their vocabulary around me. Because I have a notebook I carry around and whenever I hear a word I don’t know I’ll write it down or ask them to write it down, ask for a simple definition, then look the word up when I get home then try to use it the next day. Fun stuff. I’ve been doing this for a while and am on my second notebook, which is impressive if I need say so myself. But one of the members got a hold of the book and all started laughing at some of the vocabulary I had learned “Who taught you this!” do you actually know this word! haha way funny! Five weeks with all natives surrounding me I’m starting to feel like I have a grasp on the language 🙂 Oh!! And we have a baptism on Tuesday 🙂 love you all! BYE!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Elder Dillon Haughton 33rd Letter from Thailand

  1. Roy and Angela Wilbanks on said:

    Here’s another definition for “week”: a blast-some mistakes, some forgiveness and always improving. I love it too!!! We love you. Keep up the good work. Gpa & Gma W.

Leave a Reply

